Ever Wonder about the Oddballs in Polls? And the Absolute Proof of Undeniable Evidence?

A friend of mine, Tim Brown, shared a link on Facebook to a recent poll by PPP, a Democratic Polling firm who uses automated data collection to build polls.

The poll is here.

I clicked and read thru and then commented.

Then I began to think. I have lots of time to think. Its raining, and I awoke to water dripping on my face. Last night, for the second time in about a month when I got ready for bed, after a long day of rainy skies, I found my side of the bed soaked. The obvious, and only suspect was the family dog. a very sweet mix of Pit bull and gawdknowswhat. it was clear that she didnt like to go out and relieve herself in the rain or on the wet grass. As we have firmly reinforced her housebreaking whenever she had an accident, we were certain that the fact that it was rainy, that she had not peed on the floor and the fact that the bed was wet, proved that she peed in the bed. we stripped the sheets, the bed cover, the comforter, replaced the same and threatened to kill the dog and made plans to again take the comforter to the local laundromat.

I thought it odd last time that the wet bed did not smell of urine, but that was simply a nagging detail, the case was closed, we had our suspect and overwhelming evidence tying her to the crime. Now, actually at 1130 pm, I am awakened by water dripping on my face. the dog isnt in the room. It takes a few seconds and a few drops for me to fully awaken for my 2 hour nap (it was supposed to be about a 7 hour sleep). As I am a highly intelligent man, I deduced that the roof was leaking. I got up, found a large dry towel and laid it on the bed. But being, as I said, a highly intelligent man, it occurred to me this was not a satisfactory solution. I didnt have a bucket, and even if i did, i could hardly see putting a bucket in the middle of my bed, especially next to my sleeping wife. ping, plink, ping….. so i got an empty laundry basket. (We have a system of empty and full -clean and dirty- plastic laundry baskets, more on that in a future blog, i am sure). I placed the basket on the bed, placed the towel over the basket and “sagged” it into the basket. now rain is caught and the dripping sound is deadened. Of course I cannot lay back down.

Again, i have time to think, and as I am a very intelligent man, I began to think of the poor dog. We actually did nothing too terrible to her, but all three of us took turns yelling at her and threatening to take her back to Peggy Adams. I wanted to make it up to her, but as I am a very intelligent man, and she is simply a dumb dog, I knew I could not explain and apologize in a way that would make her feel better.

When I got up and started typing this blog, she heard me and began to gently scratch on the closed door of my son’s bedroom. She does this most mornings. I let her out and reclose the door. My son continues to sleep. This morning, or night as it actually was then, she was very happy to see me.

God only knows if she is a dumb dog, who loves her keeper no matter how hateful, if she knew her innocence and had faith that our good hearts would someday know the truth, or what. I was relived that she was happy to see me. I still felt guilty about blaming her, but am willing to let “sleeping dogs lie” if she is. By the way, she IS sleeping on the couch as I continue this rather wordy blog….

But, as Arlo put it so well so long ago, thats not what i came to talk to you about. And no, I am not here to protest the draft.

Back to the poll, i commented:

i wonder at the accuracies in this survey. as a political junkie, i have followed political polling for years, PPP and Rasmussen both use the automated telephone polls and are both, skewed when compared o traditional human polls, funnily, as PPP is a Democratic org and Rasmussen is a Goper, they each skew to their political direction. but even assuming they are skewed, and even considering that some people would find it amusing to answer yes on the lizard people, and considering that 4% of 1200 people is only about 50 people, the 7% is more troubling, if they were being funny, would those 85 people also have answered yes? sadly, if you take the poll as a whole, you see a sizable minority who believe in all sorts of conspiracies, and a lot of them vote!!!!!

But now i have two further questions.

1. how often are people who hold outrageous views only doing what we did with our poor dog? Took the obvious answer drawn from the facts as they are presented. When a typical citizen looks at the goings ons and especially the made up goings ons if one is to believe the lies one politician will tell about another politician, when the facts are that America owes lots of money, the world is going to hell in a dump truck and there is neither anyone nor anything anyone that they know can do about any of it. how much of this does it take to make a few people believe in the lizard people, and a few more be on the fence about it?

2. when you see repeated polls of folks, in my case, especially Americans, where a small but significant number of people believe a series of outrageous claims, are these the same people? does a person who believes in bigfoot also believe they faked the moon landing, that LBj had JFK killed, that the CIA created aids, crack and 9/11. Do those who are being tracked by their TV also know the deep dark secrets of the European Jewish Bankers?

OR does one conspiracy ring true with say a liberal urban black, another with a white baptist farmer from Texas and so on? Does the conspiracy matter in how you get to it? I have always been a believer in the the FBI involvement with MLK’s death, but tend to frown on most other theories. I have seen ghosts with my own eyes, though I am still not certain I believe in them. Am I a very intelligent man, or as crazy as the next nut job who wakes up at midnight to type a blog? Okay, so i actually had several more questions. Btu my larger point is when 10% of American believe in a bunch of weird stuff,is it that nearly 100% of us believe in some weirdness, or do 90% of Americans believe in the conventional wisdom of the day and only 10% of us wear tinfoil hats about everything?

Riddle me that!!!!

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author edit data As one of the most public lives ever lived by a private citizen, there is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Shelfari and countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ever Wonder about the Oddballs in Polls? And the Absolute Proof of Undeniable Evidence?

  1. mefoley says:

    Yay! Somebody else who quotes Arlo. The one I general use is “You cain’t always do what ya s’posed to do!”

    • Favorite Alice’s Restaurant quotes:

      Havin’ all that room, seein’ as how they took out all the pews, they decided that they didn’t have to take out their garbage for a long time.

      So we took the half a ton of garbage, put it in the back of a red VW
      microbus, took shovels and rakes and implements of destruction

      with tears in our eyes we drove off into the sunset looking for another place to put the garbage

      and off the side of the side road there was another fifteen foot cliff and at the bottom of the cliff there was another pile of garbage. And we decided that one big pile is better than two little piles, and rather than bring that one up we decided to throw our’s down.

      had a thanksgiving dinner that couldn’t be beat, went to sleep and didn’t get up until the
      next morning

      I cannot tell a lie, I put that envelope under that garbage.

      Obie, I don’t think I can pick up the garbage with these handcuffs on.”
      “Shut up, kid. Get in the back of the patrol car.”

      being the biggest crime of the last fifty years, and everybody wanted to
      get in the newspaper story about it. And they was using up all kinds of
      cop equipment that they had hanging around the police officer’s station.
      They was taking plaster tire tracks, foot prints, dog smelling prints, and
      they took twenty seven eight-by-ten colour glossy photographs with circles
      and arrows and a paragraph on the back of each one explaining what each
      one was to be used as evidence against us.

      remember Alice? It’s a song about Alice

      we was fined $50 and had to pick up the garbage in the snow, but thats not
      what I came to tell you about. Came to talk about the draft.

      I wanna see blood and gore and guts and veins in my teeth. Eat dead burnt bodies. I mean kill, Kill, KILL, KILL.” And I started jumpin up and down yelling, “KILL, KILL,” and
      he started jumpin up and down with me and we was both jumping up and down
      yelling, “KILL, KILL.” And the sargent came over, pinned a medal on me,
      sent me down the hall, said, “You’re our boy.

      “Kid, we only got one question. Have you ever been arrested?”

      talked for forty-five minutes and nobody understood a word that he said, but we had
      fun filling out the forms and playing with the pencils on the bench there

      (“KID, HAVE YOU REHABILITATED YOURSELF?”)

      I mean I’m sittin here on the Group W bench ’cause you want to know if I’m moral enough join the army, burn women, kids, houses and villages after bein’ a litterbug.”

      can you imagine fifty people a day,I said fifty people a day walking in singin a bar of Alice’s Restaurant and walking out. And friends they may thinks it’s a movement. And that’s what it is , the Alice’s Restaurant Anti-Massacre Movement, and all you got to do to join is sing it the next time it come’s around on the guitar

      With apologies to Arlo, as i used most of his song, and yes, as my wife will attest, i do use all of the above, abridged or unabridged, depending on the circumstances. She hates it when I quote him:)

      • mefoley says:

        OH, yes. Let’s have us an Arlo fest. (I follow him on Facebook, as it happens; if you don’t already, now you know you can.) At our house, in addition to the quote I mentioned already, we use “implements of destruction” — though I’m not sure the phrase is his originally; we might have picked it up elsewhere — and “circles and arrows”.

      • i just wanna ride my motorcycle (pronounced like Popsicle)

  2. History indicates that some of the weirdness is real and some of the ‘real’ is probably weird. Have you picked one of the ‘real’ conspiracies, that is the question?

Leave a Reply

