A Nice and Unexpected Interview

Since winning the World’s Most Exposed Poetry Contest back in June of this year, I haven’t known how to think of myself as a poet. It is hard to deny that being selected as one of 6 out of about 400 and then being elected by a plurality of the members is both an honor, and a little bit of “not such a big deal” compared to say being selected as “Poet of the Year” by the Pulitzer committee or getting a Nobel, or even winning a National Book Critic Circle award for poetry, and as there is no money involved, either in compensation or in cost for folks to get access to my winning poem, it is questionable how big a deal it actually is. Make no mistake, it is, by far, the largest audience and the most votes I have ever received in any kind of contest, but still of the millions who received the Goodreads Newsletter, how many opened it? how many of those who opened it read all the way to the bottom, and of these, how many actually read my poem?

no way for me to know. Am I a celebrity? Am I legitimately a good poet? Should I start seriously submitting to prestigious poetry journals? Does it matter?

It would matter if I started receiving a few hundred dollars per month in payments, and sold a few thousand books each year and made a few thousand more in speaking fees, but that is like a garage band hoping to get steady work, a record contract and a few gold records… (do they still call them gold records? how do you hang an mp3 on your wall? do they still make mp3s? I am totally out of the loop on music), I dont think my chances are very good, so i will probably focus on my day job and sink back beneath the waves of obscurity, never having known if I was almost in the majors, or did I hit a pop fly in a ball and get a sympathetic round of applause. but then, I wonder if most of us dont live with that question about something or some moment in our lives, and then of course, we are all dead soon enough:)

My point of the above ramblings is to say I was recently interviewed by S. Scott Whitaker! Whitaker published my interview, along with several other indie poets (means none of us are the famous category, though a couple are closer to the “making real money off of poetry” camp than I am)

http://fieldrecord.blogspot.com/2013/09/indie-author-spotlight-anthony-watkins.html

Let me know what you think. I hope I didnt come across too much as the arrogant fool I so often am!

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author edit data As one of the most public lives ever lived by a private citizen, there is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Shelfari and countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Nice and Unexpected Interview

  1. arichaley says:

    Another problem with digital music. How do you give someone an album that’s only available as a download? “Here’s a gift card. Download this album!” ??!! That seems more like giving them a duty than a, um, gift.

    Oh, and congratulations on the publicity!

  2. I love the way your answer to the guilty pleasures question end with Faulkner, Welty and Agee. Hardly in the spirit of Fifty Shades?

Leave a Reply

