Django Unchained, a belated review (and an incidental look at Kerry Washington’s Scandal)

Watched Django Unchained, yeah, I know its been out nearly a year, but I bought my first microwave over in 1984, and 1st read To Kill a Mockingbird in about 2000, so staying on the cutting edge of pop culture isnt my thing, anyway.

As to the movie, really enjoyed it, not sure why Quint’s blood and gore didnt bother me here as much as it does in his other movies. I like him and think I share a lot of his values and tastes, but I hated Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs so much I wasnt in a hurry to try this one. I am not a big fan of any of the cast members, or I should say I wasnt.

Scandal Kerry Washington 2

I wasnt until we started watching Scandal, an ABC TV show that Suzanne and I have become fond of. Part of the attraction is the lead, a beautiful young lady named Kerry Washington. and while the main reason to watch scandal is the story, Kerry is pretty enough to look at that when Suzanne suggested watching the boy from Chattanooga’s latest offering, I agreed.

I have a few complaints, one Kerry did not spend near enough time in front of the camera, though her character inspires the action in the plot, and two, in the end i dont know where they go from Candyland, because free or not, Django had just killed off half the white population of the county.

Also, I tend to agree with Roxane Gay who challenged the premise of Django Unchained as a “black man’s slavery revenge fantasy” film by arguing that it is “a white man’s slavery revenge fantasy, and one in which white people figure heavily and where black people are, largely, incidental. Django is allowed to regain his dignity because he is freed by a white man. He reunites with his wife, again, with the help of a white man. Django Unchained isn’t about a black man reclaiming his freedom. It’s about a white man working through his own racial demons and white guilt.” (from the link below)

Also agree there is at least some truth to the view that this movie uses the story of slavery to entertain us with violence, and especially gore. having said that, i enjoyed it, and recommend it, which make sit the very first Terantino film i could say that for.

Keeping in mind that i generally hate both TV shows and movies, getting a passing grade from me should tell you that both Scandal and Django are worth watching, either that, or they appeal to people who dont like movies or TV….

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Django_Unchained

http://abc.go.com/shows/scandal

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author edit data As one of the most public lives ever lived by a private citizen, there is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Shelfari and countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Django Unchained, a belated review (and an incidental look at Kerry Washington’s Scandal)

  1. mark heyne says:

    Hi Tony. I saw this a while ago, and wouldn’t bother to re_watch it. As for 12 years a slave, i have avoided it so far, I can’t handle harrowing emotions, not voluntarily anyway!

    • agreed, on the avoiding the harrowing stuff. I have watched or read many such stories and can no longer bear it. I think Django, for whatever reason, wasn’t so much that, it had more of a Scarface feel to it.

Leave a Reply

