Would You Like an Old Convertible Rolls Coupe?

There was a time I contemplated trying to buy one.

Today, online, I read a poem written by a friend of a friend, or at least a virtual friend of a virtual friend.

The poem was about how the poet so wanted to have another person’s BMW. It occurs to me, that the poet may have been using the BMW as a metaphor.

I have been told I am very smart by enough people I tend to believe them. But when it comes to reading, I often miss what more clever readers see, so i cant say for sure what the poem meant.

I can, however, say what it started me thinking about. It occurs to me, that under no circumstances would I ever want somebody else’s BMW, or my own BMW, or even drive someone else’s BMW.

When I was a kid, I used to want a Ferrari, or even a Maserati, I even lusted after the cute little Mercedes coupe, the 280, but then that made it ugly and big, and I even liked the little BMW 2002, not the year, back in the 60s, it was a model, kinda a precursoer to the 300 series, it was Renault ugly, but it was cute in an ugly sort of way.
Image
Generally, I dont like a lot of things, i mean i dont like them so much i dont even understand how other people like them. you know, pre ground coffee, 90% of all TV programs, Starbucks coffee, whiskey, Margaritas, sushi and at least 100 other things that are wildly popular,
and yet i love lots of things that are mass marketed, things a lot of other folks would die before eating, wearing, doing, and so on.

What makes humans so predictable that a relatively smart person can make and market something to millions, and yet millions of other folks will viscerally hate it, and they will love things that others hate. What makes us this way? Why dont I wish I had your BMW? (oh, i loved the old Bavaria, and the older 507, i think it was, but the truth is, these days, i am pretty sure even if i won a powerball, i couldnt drive a car that cost ten times more than a reasonable facsimile might cost, or even 2-3 times. Why?

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author edit data As one of the most public lives ever lived by a private citizen, there is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Shelfari and countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Would You Like an Old Convertible Rolls Coupe?

  1. Alan Watkins says:

    Every one needs a god or maybe God and most of our culture worships at the feet of the god of materialism. If everyone else likes it I must like it too.

Leave a Reply

