Is It Me or Is It Twitter

In real life I have a few dozen friends and acquaintances, On Shelfari and Facebook I have hundreds of friends. On Twitter, I follow maybe 50 people and organizations and celebrities, and have 6 followers. Even this little blog has about 40 followers (thanks, y’all!).

I check in at twitter fairly regularly, read the tweets, even go to some sites linked there. Even on Linkedin, which I almost forget to ever go to, I have more incoming activity and connections that at Twitter, yet, I understand, mostly for news outlets, that twitter is the way to track whats trending and whats hot. not in my quiet little corner of the tweetdom. If any of you use twitter in what you consider a successful way, please tell what the deal is.

I dont mean success in a financial sense. I long ago gave up on the idea that i could get paid for anything creative i do, but i would like a bit of critical mass there. Talk to me you tweetheads!

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author edit data As one of the most public lives ever lived by a private citizen, there is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Shelfari and countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is It Me or Is It Twitter

  1. simonhamer says:

    Have a look at mashable.com and look at what makes a profile interesting and a little about twitter etiquette. http://mashable.com/2013/10/14/twitter-etiquette/
    Try and tweet regularly, and reply to others about their tweets.

  2. Sahm King says:

    You know what I’ve learned? Okay, take this with a grain of salt, because I’m extremely lazy… That said, what I’ve learned is that you have to…engage, often, with people on Twitter. There’s so much that people are exposed to that they’ll barely notice you if you’re not reaching out to them. What I mean is, if you see a Tweet you like, if you can somehow make a conversation out of it, make a conversation out of it. That’s engagement. Another thing you can do is Retweet (sometimes, I’ll even modify the Tweet and add in my own two cents, if there’s enough space to do so).

    There’s a principle I learned of in my Project Management studies that I found to be really effective. It’s the Pareto Principle (also known as the 80/20 rule). The principle basically means that 80% of issues are caused by 20% of defects I turned this around, though. I looked at it from a pseudo marketing angle (without actually concentrating so much on marketing). What I was doing was promoting myself on 20% of the time, and promoting other people 80% of the time. I kept this simple by posting only 10 tweets per day. As time went on, I noticed two things:

    1) people were interacting with me more often.
    2) people were sharing MY tweets more often.

    If you facilitate an air of engagement, people will respond to that. At least, that’s what I’ve learned.

    I might be wrong, though. I haven’t put it into practice for a while. I kinda got trailed off of twitter after I reached my over 1000 goal. But try it out. The worst possible thing that can happen is that it doesn’t work and you waste some time.

    Oh, and if you don’t have much time, a great application to use is Buffer (http://bufferapp.com). It has helped me tremendously. It’s a tweet scheduling app that comes in pretty handy if you’re just not feeling like being on twitter all day…sorta like me.

    • cool! thanks for the tips, will get the buffer, yeah, i am on line all day, but twitter isnt where i want to spend the day…

      • Sahm King says:

        I feel you on that. Twitter is a virtual…mind bender. That buffer app even lets you schedule retweets directly from Twitter once you have it connected to your account, so if you see something you want to retweet, you can “Buffer” it and have it scheduled to post the next day. Incidentally, Buffer also only allows you to schedule up to 10 posts at a time unless you get their paid account. The free account works well enough, though.

        Much success to you Anthony.

Leave a Reply

