Ocean Drive

I am up out of the hole
and the sun shines bright
on my rusty Ford today
and I will not lay back down.

The ocean is the sound
of the crumbling
of a soul to dust
and the waves are the color
of a mind going to rust
and I will not lay down again
from the dead I was.

I have arised
Like the seagull screaming
To no one but god
I have arised
and to not lay down again

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author edit data As one of the most public lives ever lived by a private citizen, there is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Shelfari and countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ocean Drive

  1. mark heyne says:

    Hi Tone, niice poem, reminds me of Dylan Thomas ‘Do not go gentle into that good night”. I notice you even have a rhyme in there!

    • yeah, I tried to get rid of it, but it stuck:) thanks, maybe ED is rubbing off on me (for those who aren’t in MoPo, ED is Emily Dickinson, not a performance disorder)
      I have always appreciated Dylan Thomas, and especially that poem.

Leave a Reply

