The Shiny Deathtrap

(forgive the long poem)

 

The shiny deathtrap

that is tomorrow

rattles by and wakes me from the gentle sleep

that is now

Go on glowing machine

of the coming day

take the future with you

I will sit here and listen to lullabies and nursery rhymes

and listen to nursery rhymes

jackandjill

littleboyblue how are you

go away tomorrow

and send me a wolf

to eat everything up

we shall soup together

lamb soup, with chops on the side

chop, chop

said the wolf

he took a bite out of me

but I am crime

and mcgruff sent him

I am sure

go away tomorrow

merrily, merrily, merrily

I lie here on the sweet mattress of now

with a wolf who can blue a slow sleepy saxophone

and I dream I am awake in old new orleans

if I had traveled more,

maybe I could dream of paris

but I am a poor boy from Alabama

and I cant seem to dream past the French quarter

if they had a French dime

I could dream that twice

with money left to tip the horn player

we chase it down the street, biting at its tires

go away tomorrow

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author edit data As one of the most public lives ever lived by a private citizen, there is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Shelfari and countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Shiny Deathtrap

  1. Pingback: My Latest Chapbook (posted as a printable book, which makes it a little confusing to read) | Anthony Uplandpoet Watkins

  2. mark heyne says:

    That’s good fun, Tone!

Leave a Reply

