I Smell the Ocean

in the quiet of my Tallahassee living room.

for as I like to say:

I like the ocean except for the sun,

sand, and salt water. In my old age,

I love a spring, or even a city pool,

filled with old people soaking and kids

squealing and splashing and having to be

told to not run on the wet concrete deck.

This ocean I smell is from over fifty years ago,

where two young boys played in the blue green water

and snow white sand, standing alternatively

in the knee deep water

and standing against a chest high breaker.

Doing this for hours at a time,

sun burning, and freckled all over,

so thirsty, but not wanting to get out

and cross 98 to the kitchenette where

Mama had us cold bottles of Coca Cola.

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author Publishers of Better than Starbucks: betterthanstarbucks.org There is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Linkedin, or countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment