Every Time I Think I’m Going to Leave Denver

I think of the mountains to the west

Yes, Denver is the “mile high city”

But the mountains nearby

stick up another two miles,

and to the east lies hundreds

of miles of rolling

green treeless plains.

If I could make it

to California

or even back to Chicago

it might be worth it.

If I could go to Florida,

On some windswept beach,

Or cold clear blue spring

or some big city down

on the Ohio

like Cincinnati

or even Pittsburgh.

Cities with hundreds

of bridges and staircases,

cities with good food,

better people

and beer older than Colorado.

So I sit here,

Drinking overpriced beer

Surrounded by hipsters

Who know nothing

of work and steel mills

and dream of leaving,

but I comb my hair

up into a ponytail

and know I am here.

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author Publishers of Better than Starbucks: betterthanstarbucks.org There is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Linkedin, or countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment