Two Poems about Salt

The Salt Keeper

I don’t use salt 

but keep three shakers,

and a big round box

with a cheap metal

pullout spout.

I don’t eat rice, anymore,

but I keep enough

to add to the shakers

now and then.

When they get low

I unscrew them

over the sink

so salt trapped

in the lid

doesn’t spill on

the counter and the floor.

Two stay in the kitchen

for cooking

and one on the table,

though sometimes a shaker

disappears into a bedroom

or onto an end table

in the living room.

When I notice,

I retrieve them

keeping them

topped off and ready.

More on Salt

My child keeps sea salt rocks

in a grinder,

though I try to explain,

all salt is sea salt,

but she knows too much to listen.

We have small round paper shakers

bought on the road

at places called Little Giant,

Giant Eagle, Ingles,

rarely at Delchamps or Kroger

or Walmart or Publix.

Pure white crystals,

not the lovely muddy concoctions

like curry or garam masala,

savored the world over

yet not on my palate

for nearly a decade

and rarely missed.

About anthonyuplandpoetwatkins

https://www.goodreads.com/AnthonyUplandpoetWatkins born in Jackson, The United States August 04, 1959 gender male website http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?contributorI... genre Poetry, Historical Fiction influences James M. Lancaster, Brenda Black White, Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, and Al Filreis member since March 2011 About this author Publishers of Better than Starbucks: betterthanstarbucks.org There is little about me that isn't already available at Facebook or Linkedin, or countless other places. Poet, writer, construction worker, salesman, truck driver, climber into the attics of total strangers, father and husband, and all around one of the luckiest men on the planet. My luck continued with a win in the June Goodreads Newsletter Contest! What an honor! http://anthonyuplandpoetwatkins.wordp... Additional Influences: Bob Dylan, William Faulkner, Barbara Kingsolver, Gloria Naylor, Eudora Welty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment